Allen Americans Win Kelly Cup

ECHL's Allen Americans Win Kelly Cup in Game 7

Jun 15, 2015

The Worcester Sharks/San Jose Barracuda ECHL affiliate won the Kelly Cup on Sunday after a 6-1 win over the South Carolina Stingrays in Game 7 of the Kelly Cup Finals. This was the Allen Americans’ first season in the ECHL.

There were several players that spent time with the Worcester Sharks that hoisted the Cup on Sunday in Allen, TX. In all, there were nine players on the championship winning squad that had once played with the Worcester Sharks:

Greger Hanson – 25 GP 12-17-29pts – MVP of the Kelly Cup playoffs!

Chad Costello – 25 GP 9-19-28pts – 2nd on team in points

Spencer Asuchak – 25 GP 11-10-21pts – led team with 53 penalty minutes

Chris Crane – 25 GP 10-10-20pts – led team with a +17 rating

Konrad Abeltshauser – 25 GP 5-11-16pts – led team with four power play goals

Vincent Arseneau – 24 GP 7-4-11pts – had two game winning goals

Rylan Schwartz – 3 GP 1-0-1pts – injured in the second round of the playoffs

Riley Gill – 13-7-0 2.41 GAA  and a .905 save percentage

Joel Rumpel – 3-2-0 2.94 GAA and a .880 save percentage

Some names may look more familiar than others.

Defenseman Konrad Abeltshauser was drafted by the SJ Sharks in 2010 (163rd overall) and has played 107 games with the Worcester Sharks over the last two seasons. Abeltshauser was also the Worcester Sharks Man of the Year the last two seasons for his community work in the Worcester area. Abeltshauser has also won the Memorial Cup with the Halifax Mooseheads (QMJHL) in 2013.

Both Chris Crane and Joel Rumpel are under contract next season with the San Jose Sharks. Forward Chris Crane was drafted by the SJ Sharks in 2010 (200th overall) and has played 23 games with the Worcester Sharks over the last three seasons. Goaltender Joel Rumpel just finished up four seasons at the University of Wisconsin before getting his feet wet at the end of this season for the Allen Americans.

It was the third straight championship for the Allen Americans as they had also won the previous two seasons in the CHL (Central Hockey League) before the league was merged with the ECHL.

The Barracuda would like to congratulate Americans head coach Steve Martinson and all of the Allen Americans players for winning the Kelly Cup.

Back to All