Sep 21, 2018

SAN JOSE - The San Jose Barracuda (@SJBarracuda), proud American Hockey League (@TheAHL) affiliate of the National Hockey League's (@NHLSan Jose Sharks (@SanJoseSharks), kick off the 2018-19 regular season at SAP Center at San Jose on Friday, October 5 against the Ontario Reign (LA Kings).
Opening night features $2 beers, $1 hot dogs, $10 parking and free parking for cars with four or more passengers, plus, the first 2000 fans will receive an 11x17 schedule poster featuring Barracuda players Jeremy RoyAlex TrueJohn McCarthy, and Jake Middleton. In addition, there will be player signings on the concourse during the second intermission presented by Williams Party Rentals.
The Barracuda are offering special ticket plans in 2018-19 including the Super 7 Pack, which guarantees the seven biggest promotional nights of the season (Home Opener, Fan Appreciation Night, Cleveland Barons Night, Worcester Sharks Night, Orange You Glad Night, Cuda Christmas and Nickelodeon Night). Super 7 Packs start as low as $56 ($8 per game). For individual tickets click here.
Since the creation of the AHL's Pacific Division in 2015-16, the Barracuda are 1-2 all-time in season openers and 10-13-5-0 against their SoCal rival the Ontario Reign. October 5th marks the first time the Barracuda will begin a season at home since its inaugural year (October 9, 2015 vs. Rockford 2-4 L).
Bay Area native Roy Sommer returns for his 23rd season behind the bench for the San Jose Sharks top developmental affiliate and is coming off his fourth consecutive Calder Cup Playoff appearance and third-straight with the Barracuda. Sommer became the first coach in league history to reach 700 wins on Dec. 3, 2017 (@BAK 2-1). During his time with San Jose, Sommer has coached over 120 players who have went on to play in the NHL including current Sharks' Joe Pavelski, Aaron Dell, Justin Braun, Tim Heed, Joakim Ryan, Logan Couture, Barclay Goodrow, Tomas Hertl, Melker Karlsson, Kevin Labanc, Timo Meier, and Marcus Sorensen.
Thanks to organizational depth, an influx of young, talented players are expected to make their pro debuts with the Barracuda this season and even push to join the Sharks including Jayden Halbgewachs (F), Max Letunov (F), Vincent Praplan (F), Zach Frye (D), Lukas Radil (F), Thomas Gregoire (D), and Josef Korenar. In addition, several key players from last year's playoff team are expected to be with the Barracuda including Antoine Bibeau (G), Mike Brodzinski (D), Nick DeSimone (D), Cavan Fitzgerald (D), Jeremy Roy (D), Rourke Chartier (F), Dylan Gambrell (F), Jon Martin (F), Colby McAuley (F), John McCarthy (F), Filip Sandberg (F), Alex Schoenborn (F), andManuel Wiederer (F).
Once again AM 1220 KDOW will be the flagship radio station of the San Jose Barracuda, carrying a majority of the 68-game regular-season schedule and all Calder Cup playoff action. Plus, all games can be watched live on AHL TV and heard on the Sharks + SAP Center App.

Back to All